Sign In / Sign Out
Navigation for Entire University
- ASU Home
- My ASU
- Colleges and Schools
- Map and Locations
All current ASU students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from the Law Library. A Proxy is required to check out materials for another borrower.
College of Law Alumni and current members of the State Bar of Arizona are offered complimentary borrowing privileges at the Law Library only.
Visitors not affiliated with ASU must purchase a Community Card to check out books.
A Sun Card or photo ID must be presented when checking out library material. Loan periods are based upon borrower category and type of material checked out.
|Law Alumni, State Bar, Community Cards||30 days|
|Undergraduates, Honors College Students||120 days|
|Masters, PhD, Law Students||365 days|
|Research Assistants, Teaching Assistants||365 days|
|Faculty, Staff, Adjuncts||365 days|
Materials in these collections have different loan periods:
|Course Reserves||4 hours|
|Study Skills Books||14 days|
|Study Skills Flash Cards||7 days|
Items in the Study Skills Collection may be checked out by Law Students and Project Excellence students only. Course Reserves and selected Reserve materials are not eligible for check out by Community Card holders.
There is no limit on the number of items that can be checked out at one time for ASU affiliates.
Law Alumni, State Bar of Arizona, and Community Card holders may have 25 items checked out at one time.
Renewals for eligible items will be automatically processed five days before the due date. Renewals on most Law Library materials are unlimited, with the following exceptions:
Renewals cannot be processed if your borrowing privileges have been suspended due to expired registration or fines over $25.
Other ways to renew:
In person: Bring your photo ID to the Law Library Circulation Desk or the circulation desk at any ASU Library.
Online: Use My Library Account. You will need to enter your ASURITE ID and password to login.
Law Library materials are subject to recall. Checked out library items can be recalled when requested by another borrower. This process may change the due date and prevents a renewal of the requested item. If an item checked out to your account is recalled, you will receive a recall notice via email.
Recalls are due 14 days after the request is placed, unless the original due date is within 14 days.
Items not returned by midnight on the recall due date are billed a daily fee of $5 per item, to a maximum of $25.
Failure to receive a recall notice does not relieve you of the responsibility of returning recalled items by the due date and paying any associated fees.
The Law Library has two book return locations for your convenience, on the 3rd and 5th floors of the BCLS building. The 3rd floor book return is located at the circulation desk. The 5th floor book return is located inside the Hirsch Reading Room, which is card-access only to Law affiliates. Law Library materials may also be returned to any ASU Library.
Law interlibrary loan books must be returned to the Law Library.
Borrowers are responsible for monitoring the status of their library account, including due dates, recalls, and fees. View your account online (ASU affiliates only) through My Library Account or call the Circulation Desk at 480-965-6144.
Overdue notices are sent periodically as a courtesy. Failure to receive notices does not relieve you of the responsibility of returning library materials on time or paying any fees incurred. Notices are sent via email to the email address in your library account.
|Billing Fee||Replacement Charge||Date Assessed|
|Books and Media||$10.00||$100.00||31st day after due date|
|Study Skills Books||$10.00||$100.00||15th day after due date|
|Study Skills Flash Cards||$10.00||$100.00||8th day after due date|
Replacement fees will be waived if items are returned undamaged within one year of billing.
Library fees totaling more than $25.00 will result in a suspension of borrowing privileges.
Fines for Law Library materials may be paid:
Online through MyASU (ASU students, faculty, and staff only).
In Person at the Cashiering Services location on each campus.
By mail. Make a check or money order payable to Arizona State University and send to:
Refunds: Replacement fees will not be refunded more than one year after payment. Billing fees are not refundable.
For questions about Law Library materials or policies, please contact the Ross-Blakley Law Library Circulation Desk: 480-965-6144.