Law Databases

View short introductory videos for these databases in our Introduction to Topical Law Databases playlist.

AILALink
AILALink is intended to be a one-stop-shop for immigration legal researchers. The database has federal statutes and regulations, federal court and agency decisions, and various other primary and secondary sources (including most of AILA's publications). Our license allows only three concurrent users. Please sign out of AILALink when you have finished using the database.

Aspen Learning Library 
Provides unlimited access to hundreds of study aids aimed at the law student. Available series include Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, Glannon Guides, and In Other Words video lectures.

Bloomberg Law
Database of legal news, company profiles, case law, legal treatises, and docket information. Also includes SEC filings, model forms and contracts. Access is limited to Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students, faculty, and staff. Individual password required.

Checkpoint Tax (RIA)
Collection of full-text primary and secondary tax research materials. Contains tax documents and secondary analysis for the areas of federal, state and local, estate planning, pensions and benefits, international and payroll taxation.

CQ Legislative Tracking
CQ Legislative Tracking provides nonpartisan legislative news, analysis, tracking services and advocacy solutions. It indexes a wide range of information from all 50 states, Congress, the federal register, and regulations.gov.

HeinOnline
Provides access to the full text of hundreds of law reviews, bar journals, federal primary materials, including the Congressional Record, U.S. Code, Federal Register, CFR, and state sessions laws.

ICLR
The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales (ICLR) database provides access to the official Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports, Industrial Cases Reports, Business Law Reports, Public and Third Sector Law Reports, and the Consolidated Index to leading law reports for the United Kingdom (UK). Select UK legislative content is also available on the platform. Dates of coverage vary by specific publication, with access to the official Law Reports available for the years 1865-present and access to the Weekly Law Reports available for the years 1953-present. UK cases on the ICLR can be searched by keyword as well as browsed by topic; keyword searching on the platform is aided by the AI-powered research tool Case Genie.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
Multilingual index to articles & book reviews published worldwide. Covers international (public & private), comparative & municipal law of countries other than the United States, the U.K., Canada & Australia. Coverage from 1984-present, updated quarterly.

Indian Claims Insight
Includes: Pre-1948: claims presented to Congress and/or brought before the Court of Claims; 1948-1978: Indian Claims Commission, including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts; Post-1978: Claims brought before the US Court of Claims (through 1982) and US Court of Federal Claims (through 2006); documents related to post-2006 settlement of claims; legislative histories and congressional publications directly related to Indian claims, including congressional publications indexed by docket numbers; important Supreme Court decisions; and maps. 

Kluwer Arbitration
Kluwer Arbitration provides resources for international arbitration research. It contains commentary from expert authors and an extensive collection of primary source materials. Access to materials including ICC cases and awards is provided.

Law.com
Law.com is a source for global legal news and analysis, containing publications such as The American Lawyer and The National Law Journal.

Lexis
Lexis is a legal research database designed for law school students and faculty. It includes cases, statutes, and regulations from federal and state jurisdictions, selected legal materials from foreign jurisdictions, and extensive secondary materials such as treatises and law journal articles. Access is limited to Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students, faculty, and staff. Individual password required.

Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
Consists of Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries.

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
Provides legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926 with full-text searching.

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
Consists of a fully searchable digital archive of early state codes, constitutional conventions, municipal codes, legal dictionaries, and published records of the American colonies designed to complement Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926. The archive has two parts: Part I, 1620-1926, containing material sourced chiefly from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University with some from the Law Library of Congress and Part II, 1763-1979, containing material sourced from the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.

Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978 
Contains the records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court from 1832 to 1978. The collection is derived from two reference sources. For 1832 through 1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library in Philadelphia. For 1915 to 1978, the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis--including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 179--with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Includes access to Shepard’s.

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional consists of the CIS Index, Congressional Indexes, 1789-1969, and selected full text Congressional publications. CIS Index abstracts US Congressional publications from 1970 to the present. The publications include Bills, Hearings, Committee Prints, House and Senate Reports, House and Senate Documents, Senate Treaty Documents, Senate Executive Reports, and the Congressional Record. It also includes unpublished hearings, those hearings not released by a committee due to their classified or sensitive nature, budget or workload considerations, or deemed to be of not great interest to the public at large.  Most publications are available in PDF format.

ProQuest Legislative Insight
Provides links to all of the documents created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Documents include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law. When all content has been added, this resource will provide legislative histories for Public Laws from 1929-2019.

ProQuest Regulatory Insight
Regulatory Insight contains administrative law histories organized by public law, and provides functionality similar to the functionality found in Legislative Insight, to facilitate research.

ProQuest Supreme Court Insight
Complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Coverage begins in 1975.

Tax Notes
Tax Notes is a product of Tax Analysts that provides information and resources on state, federal, and international tax issues. Content includes research tools, weekly magazines with commentary, and daily journals with news and analysis. This resource is accessible via the IP range of ASU by accessing taxnotes.com, clicking SIGN IN, then providing an asu.edu email address to create a user profile and password.

VitalLaw
A Wolters Kluwer database providing full text of popular treatises and primary law in the areas of tax, banking, bankruptcy, business, health care, intellectual property, products liability, and securities law. This product replaces Cheetah and CCH Intelliconnect. VitalLaw is frequently used for legal tax research. Users looking for accounting tax research should use the companion database AnswerConnect.

West Academic Study Aids
Provides unlimited access to hundreds of study aids aimed at the law student. Case studies, hornbooks, exam outlines and audio lectures are included.

Westlaw
Westlaw is an online legal research service. Information resources on Westlaw include databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms, and other information resources. Most legal documents on Westlaw are indexed to the West Key Number System, which is West's master classification system of U.S. law. Westlaw supports natural language and Boolean searches. Other significant Westlaw features include KeyCite, a citation checking service, which can be used to determine whether cases or statutes are still good law. Access is limited to Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law students, faculty, and staff. Individual password required.