Research

Home / Research / Research Guides / Self-Help Guide to Legal Information

Self-Help Guide to Legal Information

Scope and Access

This guide was designed to help public patrons with legal research needs on a variety of topics. The first part of the guide provides references to general legal resources in print and on the internet. The list of general resources is followed by a list of print and electronic legal resources organized alphabetically by legal topic.

The links on this page are to free websites, to information about books available in the Ross-Blakley Law Library, and to electronic books available on the ASU library computers. ASU students, faculty, and staff can also access electronic books using their ASUrite passwords.

The Ross-Blakley Law Library has many helpful research guides. We also have a webpage especially for the public listing resources that are useful for public patrons. If you need legal advice or help in finding an attorney, see Legal Advice in the Phoenix Area.

 

General

Cases and Statutes

Findlaw 

Find a lawyer or browse legal information. Click on the “For Legal Professionals” tab for more research options, including free federal and state cases and codes. 

Legal information on numerous legal topics, including free cases, codes, regulations, legal articles, legal blog databases, federal filings, and regulations tracker. Includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Court of Appeals opinions since 1950, and U.S. District Court opinions since 2004, as well as links to many other free resources.

Includes opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court since 1992 plus selected earlier opinions, a searchable index of all U.S. Circuit Court opinions on the internet, the United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, federal court rules, and links to other free legal resources. Hosted by Cornell Law School. 
The websites listed here can help you research the law where you live, find government agencies, learn about efforts to make the law more accessible to non-lawyers and get detailed information about a particular legal issue. 

PLoL is a great free source for finding cases and other legal materials. It has cases from the U.S. Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals; cases from all 50 states back to 1997; and links to federal and state statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.

General Resources
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law: Answers to your Most Frequently Asked Questions
by Shae Irving
Practical Law: Legal Information for Consumers
The American Bar Association provides self-help information on many legal topics, including how the law affects important everyday situations, how courts work, and criminal law.
American Bar Association Family Legal Guide
The ABA Division of Public Education makes this guide available for free download.
The American Bar Association Legal Guide for Americans over 50
The American Bar Association Legal Guide for Women
Arizona Web Resources
Arizona Supreme Court's Self-Service Center
El Centro de Autoservicio
This site was created to help people who are representing themselves find the correct forms and information about the Arizona court system. The court has downloadable formsinclude: Divorce, Child Support Changes, Family Crisis, Landlord/Tenant, Name Change, Probate (Guardianship), Small Claims, and Personal Information Redaction. There are also links to country self-service centers.
The site also has appellate guides and forms for Self-Represented (“Pro Se” or “Pro Per”) Appellants and Appellees, and for Self-Represented (“Pro Se” or “Pro Per”) Parties in Worker's Compensation Case Appeals.
Maricopa County Self-Service Center
A program provided by the Superior Court of Arizona, Maricopa County, to help people going to court help themselves. The Self-Service Center has general information and resources, forms and instructions, and a listing of lawyers and mediators. Downloadable forms are provided for Civil Cases, Deferral of Court Fees, Domestic Violence, Family Court, Juvenile Cases, Probate Cases, Property Tax, and Criminal Cases. There is also a glossary of court-related terms.
AzCourtHelp
The AzCourtHelp website provides assistance to those navigating the Arizona state court system. It provides information on court location, on accessing court forms, and provides topical resources.
State Bar of Arizona
Includes resources to help you find a lawyer or free legal services, information on client rights and responsibilities and disputes with lawyers, consumer brochures and links to other legal websites.
AZ Law Help
This site has general information on many legal topics, including: Family and Children; Native American Issues; Work; Immigration; Housing; Health & Disability; Consumer Issues; Disaster Relief; Court Information, Arizona & National Resources; Criminal Law; Your Rights; Public Utilities & Energy; Public Benefits; Protection from Abuse; Seniors; and Life & Estate Planning. AZLawHelp.org is a collaborative project of: Community Legal Services, DNA People's Legal Services, Southern Arizona Legal Aid, Inc., The Volunteer Lawyer's Program, Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, and The William E. Morris Institute for Justice.
Legal Dictionaries
Black's Law Dictionary
Oran's Dictionary of the Law
Garner's Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage
Wex
A public-access law dictionary and legal encyclopedia sponsored by the Legal Information Institute.
Law.com Dictionary
Search or browse legal terms and definitions.
Nolo's Free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions
A free resource from Nolo.

Bankruptcy

Filing for Bankruptcy Without an Attorney
from the U.S. Bankruptcy Courts
How to File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy (Nolo)
by Stephen Elias, Albin Renauer & Robin Leonard
Chapter 13 Bankruptcy: Keep Your Property and Repair Your Debts Over Time (Nolo)
Stephen Elias & Robin Leonard
See the Ross-Blakley Law Library's research guide on Bankruptcy for more information.


Business

Small Business Start-Up Kit (Nolo)
by Peri Pakroo
Entrepreneur's Guide to Business Law (ABA)
by Constance E. Bagley & Craig E. Dauchy
Trademark: Legal Care for Your Business & Product Name (Nolo)
by Stephen Elias
How to Form a Nonprofit Corporation (Nolo)
by Anthony Mancuso
The Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business (Nolo)
by Fred S. Steingold
Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business (Nolo)
by Fred S. Steingold
The Partnership Book: How to Write a Partnership Agreement (Nolo)
by Denis Clifford & Ralph Warner
LLC or Corporation? : How to Choose the Right Form for Your Business (Nolo)
by Anthony Mancuso
The Law of Corporations in a Nutshell
by Robert W. Hamilton
Doing Business in Arizona: A Legal Guide
by Snell & Wilmer L.L.P.

 

Civil Rights

Constitutional Law in a Nutshell
by Jerome Barron & C. Thomas Dienes
The Rights of Indians and Tribes: The Basic ACLU Guide to Indian and Tribal Rights
by Stephen L. Pevar
Constitutional Civil Rights in a Nutshell
by Norman Vieira
The Rights of People Who Are HIV Positive
by William B. Rubenstein, Ruth Eisenberg & Lawrence O. Gostin
The Right to Religious Liberty: The Basic ACLU Guide to Religious Rights
by Barry Lynn, Mark D. Stern & Oliver S. Thomas
The Rights of Racial Minorities: The Basic ACLU Guide to Racial Minority Rights
by Laughlin McDonald & John A. Powell
The Rights of Women: The Basic ACLU Guide to Women's Rights
by Susan Deller Ross
The Right to Protest: The Basic ACLU Guide to Free Expression
by Joel M. Gora

Courts and Mediation

Guide for Self-Represented (“Pro Se” or “Pro Per”) Appellants and Appellees
Basic information about civil appeals in the Arizona Court of Appeals and the Arizona Supreme Court. By Scott H. Gan and Gary J. Cohen.
Also available on the Arizona Judicial Branch website.
Representing Yourself: Appealing a Civil Case to the Superior Court
A guide on how to appeal a final order or judgment from a Justice Court or Municipal Court in non-traffic civil cases.
Representing Yourself: Appealing a Civil Traffic Case to the Superior Court
A guide on how to appeal a civil traffic case from a Justice Court or Municipal Court to the Superior Court.
Also available on the Arizona Judicial Branch website.
Representing Yourself: Appealing a Criminal Case to the Superior Court
A guide on how to appeal a criminal case (including criminal traffic cases) from a Justice Court or Municipal Court to the Superior Court.
Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court (Nolo)
by Ralph Warner and Emily Doskow
Trial Advocacy In A Nutshell
by Paul Bergman
Trial Techniques (Wolters Kluwer)
by Thomas A. Mauet
Nolo's Deposition Handbook (Nolo)
by Paul Bergman & Albert J. Moore
Represent Yourself In Court: How To Prepare And Try A Winning Case (Nolo)
by Paul Bergman & Sara J. Berman-Barrett
Beat Your Ticket: Go to Court & Win! (Nolo)
by David Wayne Brown
Mediate, Don't Litigate (Nolo)
by Peter Lovenheim & Lisa Guerin
How to Mediate Your Dispute (Nolo)
by Peter Lovenheim
How to Take and Defend Depositions (Aspen)
by L.J. Chris Martiniak
The Supreme Court Explained
by Ellen Greenberg

Criminal Law

Representing Yourself: Appealing a Criminal Case to the Superior Court
A guide on how to appeal a criminal case (including criminal traffic cases) from a Justice Court or Municipal Court to the Superior Court.
Also available on the Arizona Judicial Branch website.
The Criminal Law Handbook: Know Your Rights, Survive the System (Nolo)
by Paul Bergman & Sara J. Berman-Barrett
Arizona Legal Forms: Criminal Procedure (vol. 7)
Crane McClennen
A Handbook of Criminal Law Terms (West)


Employment and Labor Law

Guide for Self-Represented (“Pro Se” or “Pro Per”) Parties in Worker's Compensation Appeals
Basic information about appeals from awards of the Industrial Commission of Arizona in worker's compensation cases.
by Scott H. Gan
Arizona Employment Law Handbook (State Bar of Arizona)
Thomas M. Rogers, editor-in-chief
Your Rights in the Workplace (Nolo)
by Barbara Kate Repa
The Employer's Legal Handbook (Nolo)
by Fred S. Steingold
Hiring Independent Contractors: The Employers' Legal Guide (Nolo)
by Stephen Fishman
Sexual Harassment on the Job: What It Is & How to Stop It (Nolo)
by William Petrocelli & Barbara Kate Repa
Arizona Labor and Employment Law
by William P. Allen, John J. Balitis & Joseph L. Moore
The Rights of Employees and Union Members: The Basic ACLU Guide to the Rights of Employees and Union Members
by Wayne N. Outten, Robert J. Rabin & Lisa R. Lipman
The Rights of Public Employees: The Basic ACLU Guide to the Rights of Public Employees
by Robert M. O'Neil
The Rights of Racial Minorities: The Basic ACLU Guide to Racial Minority Rights
by Laughlin McDonald & John A. Powell
The Rights of Women: The Basic ACLU Guide to Women's Rights
by Susan Deller Ross

Family Law

General
Arizona Legal Forms: Domestic Relations (vol. 4 and 4A)
Catherine A. Creighton
Living Together: A Legal Guide for Unmarried Couples (Nolo)
by Toni Ihara, Ralph Warner & Frederick Hertz
Community Property Law (vol. 4 of Arizona Practice)
by Thomas A. Jacobs
The Financial Power Of Attorney Workbook (Nolo)
by Shae Irving
The Ten Biggest Legal Mistakes Women Can Avoid: How to Protect Yourself, Your Children, and Your Assets 
by Marilyn Barrett
A Legal Guide for Lesbian and Gay Couples (Nolo)
Hayden Curry, Denis Clifford & Robin Leonard
Family Law in Arizona
Sandra K. Bregman
ABA Guide to Family Law
This book is part of the ABA Legal Guides series.
The Rights of Families: The Authoritative ACLU Guide to the Rights of Family Members Today
by Martin Guggenheim, Alexandra Dylan Lowe & Diane Curtis
The Rights of Lesbians and Gay Men: The Basic ACLU Guide to a Gay Person's Rights
by Nan D. Hunter, Sherryl E. Michaelson & Thomas B. Stoddard
Children
Child Custody: Building Parenting Agreements that Work (Nolo)
by Mimi Lyster
Mediating Child Custody Disputes: A Strategic Approach (Jossey-Bass)
by Donald T. Saposnek
Pathway to Adoption: An Arizona Guide (Emerald Press)
by Mary L. Verdier and Maribeth McGowan
Dissolution
Self-Service Guide for Divorce Cases
Published by the Arizona Supreme Court.
Marriage Dissolution Practice (vol.3 of Arizona Practice)
by Charles Marshall Smith and Irwin Cantor
Divorce Without Court: A Guide to Mediation and Collaborative Divorce (Nolo)
by Katherine E. Stoner
Nolo's Essential Guide to Divorce (Nolo)
by Emily Doskow

Family Advocate, the membership magazine of the ABA Section of Family Law, occasionally has issues written for clients, including:

  • Vol. 30, no. 1 (2007): Coparenting During and After Divorce: A Handbook for Parents”
  • Vol. 29, no. 1 (2006): My Parents Are Getting Divorced: A Handbook by and for Kids”
  • Vol. 28, no. 1 (2005): Illuminating Answers to 200+ FAQs: Frequently Asked Questions About Divorce”
  • Vol. 27, no. 1 (2004): Surviving Your Divorce and Beyond: A Client Manual”
  • Vol. 26, no. 1 (2003): What Your Children Need ... Now! A Divorcing Parent's Handbook”
  • Vol. 24, no. 4 (2002): “Your ADR Options: A Client Handbook”
  • Vol. 24, no. 1 (2002): “Divorce Forms: A Handbook for Clients”

Foreclosure

Foreclosures: Defenses, Workouts, and Mortgage Servicing
from the National Consumer Law Center
Mortgage Relief Scams
from the Federal Trade Commission's Bureau of Consumer Protection
See the Ross-Blakley Law Library's research guide on Foreclosure Law for more information.


Health Care

Health Law Handbook
Clark Boardman Company
Elder Law in a Nutshell
by Lawrence A. Frolik & Richard L. Kaplan
Choose the Right Long-Term Care: Home Care, Assisted Living and Nursing Homes (Nolo)
by J.L. Mathews
Health Care Law and Ethics in a Nutshell
by Mark A. Hall, Ira Mark Ellman, Daniel S. Strouse
Mental Health and Disability Law in a Nutshell
by Donald H.J. Herman
Elder Law
by Margaret C. Jasper
The Rights of People Who Are HIV Positive: The Authoritative ACLU Guide to the Rights of People Living with HIV Disease and AIDS
by William B. Rubenstein, Ruth Eisenberg & Lawrence O. Gostin

Immigration

How to Get a Green Card (Nolo)
by Loida Nicolas Lewis
U.S. Immigration Made Easy (Nolo)
by Laurence A. Canter & Martha S. Siegel
The Rights of Aliens and Refugees: The Basic ACLU Guide to Alien and Refugee Rights
by David Carliner
See the Ross-Blakley Law Library's research guide on Immigration Law for more information.

 

Indian Law

The Rights of Indians and Tribes: The Basic ACLU Guide to Indian and Tribal Rights
by Stephen L. Pevar
American Indian Law in a Nutshell
by William C. Canby
See the Ross-Blakley Law Library's Indian Law Portal for more information.

Landlord and Tenant

Arizona Rental Rights: A Guide Book for Tenants, Landlords and Mobile Home Users
by David A. Peterson, Andrew M. Hull
Every Landlord's Legal Guide (Nolo)
by Marcia Stewart, Ralph Warner & Janet Portman
KF590 .Z9 S74
Every Tenant's Legal Guide (Nolo)
by Janet Portman & Marcia Stewart
Landlord and Tenant Law in a Nutshell
by David S. Hill
Arizona Landlord's Deskbook
by Carlton C. Casler

See the Ross-Blakley Law Library's research guide on Residential Landlord and Tenant Laws for more information.

 

Legal Research

The Legal List: Research on the Internet
by Diana Botluk
Legal Research in a Nutshell
by Morris L. Cohen & Kent C. Olson
Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law (Nolo)
by Stephen Elias & Susan Levinkind
Legal Research Made Easy (Sourcebooks)
by Susan Herskowitz

Patent, Trademark, and Copyright

Patent It Yourself (Nolo)
by David Pressman
Trademark: Legal Care for Your Business & Product Name (Nolo)
by Stephen Elias
Nolo's Patents for Beginners (Nolo)
by David Pressman and Richard Stim
Patent Pending in 24 Hours (Nolo)
by Richard Stim & David Pressman
How to Make Patent Drawings: A “Patent It Yourself Companion” (Nolo)
by Jack Lo and David Pressman
Patent, Copyright & Trademark (Nolo)
by Stephen Elias
The Copyright Handbook: How to Protect & Use Written Works (Nolo)
by Stephen Fishman
Getting Permission: How to License and Clear Copyrighted Material Online & Off (Nolo)
by Richard Stim
Copyright Your Software (Nolo)
by Stephen Fishman
The Rights of Authors, Artists and Other Creative People: The Basic ACLU Guide to Author and Artist Rights
by Kenneth P. Norwick & Jerry Simon Chasen

Personal Injury

Winning Your Personal Injury Claim (Sphinx)
by Evan K. Aidman

Property

Neighbor Law: Fences, Trees, Boundaries, and Noise (Nolo)
by Cora Jordan
The American Bar Association Guide to Home Ownership: The Complete and Easy Guide to All the Law Every Home Owner Should Know

Retirement

Social Security, Medicare & Government Pensions (Nolo)
by Joseph L. Matthews with Dorothy Matthews Berman
IRAs, 401(k)s & Other Retirement Plans: Taking Your Money Out (Nolo)
by Twila Slesnick & John C. Suttle


Service Members and Veterans

Legal Rights For Deployed Service Members
from the United States Attorney's Office for the District of Arizona
The American Veterans' and Servicemembers' Survival Guide
The Military Divorce Handbook: A Practical Guide to Representing Military Personnel and Their Families
by Mark E. Sullivan
OutServe | Servicemembers Legal Defense Network
"OutServe-SLDN is a non-partisan, non-profit (501-c-3), legal services, watchdog and policy organization that provides free and direct legal assistance to service members and veterans affected by the repealed "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" law, the current ban on open authentic transgender service and those currently serving who may experience harassment or discrimination.”
Federal Benefits for Veterans and Dependents
also available en Espanol
from the Department of Veterans Affairs
Service Member Fact Sheet
from the Department of Defense, Force Health Protection and Readiness Policy and Programs
Arizona Department of Veterans' Services
Site includes information on benefits and services provided, news and events, and links to other resources.
Veteran's Benefits: A Guide to State Programs
by R.E. Armstrong and Terry P. Rizzuti

Taxes

Tax Savvy for Small Business (Nolo)
by Frederick W. Daily
The Alternative Minimum Tax: What You Need to Know about the “Other” Income Tax (Sphinx)
by Harold S. Peckron
Minding Her Own Business: The Self-Employed Woman's Essential Guide to Taxes and Financial Records (Sphinx)
by Jan Zobel
Tax Power for the Self-Employed: Straightforward Advice from an Expert
by James O. Parker
See the Ross-Blakley Law Library's research guide on Federal Tax Research or the Tax Law section of our Legal Forms page for more information.

 

 

 

Wills, Trusts, and Estates

Arizona Estate and Probate Planning Handbook (vol. 12 of Arizona Practice)
Quick & Legal Will Book (Nolo)
by Denis Clifford
Elder Care in Arizona: Resolving Legal and Financial Issues
by Michael A. Friedman, Bryan Herdt, Catherine J. Leas & Thomas J. Murphy
8 Ways to Avoid Probate (Nolo)
by Mary Randolph
ABA Guide to Wills and Estates (2004)
This book is part of the ABA Legal Guides series.
A Will Is Not Enough in Arizona
by Amelia E. Pohl & Dan R. Morris
Probate Code Practice Manual (State Bar of Arizona)
by Charles F. Myers

 

updated 5/2018